Traditional Homes and Korean Hanbok

Hello world,

I had so much fun wearing a Hanbok: the representative example of traditional Korean dress worn during festivals. I felt like royalty because the cloth was so pretty! Marlie and I sat on this bench that was meant for a king!

IMG_1983

Another great experience was that were able to see a Korean traditional style home. Everything looked very detailed and elaborate; from the roof shingles to the beautiful artwork painted on the ceiling, to the roof wood work. 

IMG_1977SIMG_1981eoul has become a much more modernized city, so to be able to see a historical piece of architecture was an authentic experience.

IMG_1988

I really want a house built like this, I felt that it had good energy.

Just before we snapped this photo (below), we were able to see a ceremony outside of the gate, with trumpets, drums, and flags. I am not sure what it was for, but it was pretty amazing- they were very serious with their movements, which  showed me that it was something to respect. IMG_1990

As you can see in the photo, the lettering is actually Chinese characters and it means “gate.”

IMG_1971

Another mountain top view was in order, here we enjoying the view from Eungbong Mt.

So many eventful days in Seoul! I am very tired! Ask me any questions you’d like.

Until next time.

*Make sure you check out my other posts!

 

2 comments

    • From what I have seen, this is a specific tourist type of area. Most live in apartments. I was told average cost is 600,000 Won per month to live in the city. However, their minimum wage is around 3,000- 4,000 Won so it is expensive from their perspective. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

